What gluten free is all about

What is gluten?

Gluten is derived from the Latin word gluten, which means glue. Gluten is a protein that makes bread dough elastic by trapping carbon dioxide in small bubbles in the dough. Without gluten the breads would not rise and become elastic and chewy.

Gluten intolerance, also known as celiac disease

The cause of the disease is not entirely clear, but heredity may play a major role. Gluten intolerance is a so-called autoimmune disease. In the blood antibodies are detected against their own tissues. Gluten intolerance does not grow away, but requires lifelong diets without gluten

In adults unexplained fatigue is a common symptom of untreated gluten intolerance. The most common symptoms in children is diarrhea and that the child does not grow as well as it should.

In addition, there are people who do not have any of the above diagnoses, but who feel that they feel better if they eat less or no gluten. 

How to avoid gluten?

If a food contains cereals with gluten, it must appear in the list of ingredients on the food packaging. Gluten is found in wheat (also durum wheat), rye, barley and crossings of these cereals. Always read the ingredient list so that you can avoid foods containing wheat and other cereal containing gluten. 

You must also exclude all common varieties of bread, flour, pasta, pastries and porridge containing the above cereals. These cereals can also be found in some pasta sauces, sausages and batter on deep fried foods. Anyone who has an allergy to wheat, rye or grains must base their diet on products that are gluten-free, such as rice, soybeans, corn or millet. Keep in mind that while oats are gluten free, they are often contaminated with wheat, rye and grains. 

As a replacement you can choose natural gluten-free foods, such as potatoes, rice, soybeans, corn, quinoa and more. There are also special products like our gluten-free pasta, noodles, and even bread. These are usually based on soybeans, rice, millet, corn and buckwheat. One example is our spaghetti made from black soybeans, where soybeans are used instead of traditional wheat to make a naturally gluten free pasta.

People with gluten intolerance may also need to avoid foods labeled with "may contain traces of" cereals. "May contain traces of" is a warning mark and currently there are no limit values ​​for products with this label. This means that the levels may vary widely and that the same product may contain different levels of gluten on different occasions.

How do we know if it's gluten free?
There are rules that must be met to label foods with the claims "gluten free". 

• The gluten content must not exceed 20 mg gluten per kg in products labeled "gluten-free"

This means that the foods must contain less than 20 parts gluten per 1 million. These values are checked in laboratory test know as ELISA test, which are carried out by food laboratories.